1. Home
  2. Embassy
  3. History of the Russian Diplomatic Missions in Japan
  4. Hakodate

Embassy

History of the Russian Diplomatic Missions in Japan

Consulate in Hakodate

By signing the Treaty of Shimoda in 1855, the government of Japan committed itself to providing land and housing for the Russian Consulate and by the Treaty of 1858, the right of permanent residence in the Japanese capital was granted for Russian diplomatic representatives.

The first consulate of the Russian Empire was opened in Hakodate, although this has since closed. It served to acquaint the citizens of Hokkaido with European architecture.

City of Hakodate.
Former Russian Consulate.Main Entrance.

On October 24, 1858 according to the old Russian calendar, September 30 according to the western calendar, and in the 5th year of Ansei according to the Japanese calendar of the time, the first mission of the Russian Consulate, led by Iosif Antonovich Goshkevich aboard the vessel Jigit, belonging to a Russian-American Company, arrived in the Japanese city of Hakodate. The city revealed itself to the Russian travelers in its true glory; a narrow strip of flat coast adjoined picturesque mountains, over 300 meters in height, which had already begun to form a blazing red and yellow tableau of Japanese maples.

The Russian mission was temporarily housed in the local Buddhist temples of Jitsugyoji and Koryuji. According to the diary of the governor of Hakodate, "in the Jitsugyoji temple resided, temporarily, the consul; his wife; his mother; a secretary; a naval officer; a doctor; a priest; a doctor's wife; and four servants, two men and two women." The Consul, I. A. Goshkevich immediately started negotiations with the Japanese authorities to allocate a plot of land for the mission on one of the city streets.

Detailed instructions given to Goshkevich by the Russian Foreign Ministry stated in part, "On arrival in Hakodate, in accordance with plans approved at the highest level, you will lay the basis for the creation of a school and hospital in the city and take all the necessary steps for its implementation, prior to approval according to the necessary procedure. The plot of land, which, on the basis of the Russian-Japanese treaty, signed in Shimoda in 1855, will be allotted to the consular building, shall be within the city borders, according to the oral agreement made ​​with the Japanese authorities by Captain K. N. Posiet. It shall combine the necessary amenities with a rather extensive space for the construction of a house with services, necessary for the consulate, shops for goods and coal storage, and facilities for visitors. But you should not mention to the Japanese authorities in advance any number or the type of the prospective buildings. All the above instructions are transmitted to you by the highest order."
It should be noted that Captain Posiet's agreement, referred to in the instructions, was reached, as may be assumed, in 1856, when he as a Russian authorized representative made, in Shimoda, ​an exchange of ratification instruments of the treaty of 1855 (the Treaty of Shimoda) with a Japanese authorized representative, Inoue Shinano-no-kami.

City of Hakodate.
Former Russian Consulate.Backyard.

Goshkevich's negotiations with the Hakodate authorities did not go smoothly. As reported by the Russian consul to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in December 1858, the Japanese side had proposed a site three kilometers removed from the city amidst windswept foothills. Goshkevich protested to the Japanese officials: "Your efforts to get all the foreigners to live in the same place are useless. This approach which you have taken toward the Dutch in Nagasaki has been proven to be impossible." The Russian consul showed them a map with four areas free from construction, requesting that he be allowed to select one of these areas. They waited for the final answer from the Japanese capital - Edo (now - Tokyo). Meanwhile, funds allocated by the Japanese side were used for the construction of a hospital and a Russian-style sauna on the site offered by the Japanese. Today it is practically in the middle of the city, but back then it was located in distant city suburbs. Both buildings were small. There was no place for living quarters for the doctor at the hospital, and he lived with the consul in the Jitsugyoji temple. These first Russian buildings have not survived, but in the Japanese chronicles there remains mention of them, noting in particular "in the Russian hospital the windows are made of glass."

It soon became clear there was no need for the hospital anymore, but, as Goshkevich wrote in May 1859, he decided to leave the building because of the presence of an oven for baking bread and rusk. In 1861, the hospital needed to be rebuilt due to a fire. The new building was erected next to the Russian consulate. The consulate doctor, court counselor M. Albreht, later noted "our consul made great effort to acquire a site for the hospital, at first it was agreed that the land would only be allotted on the condition that the consul provide a written commitment to cease further requirements for any space for the Russian..."

City of Hakodate.
Former Russian Consulate.
Interior Stairs.

Three months had passed since Goshkevich had arrived in Hakodate, but the issue concerning the site for the Consulate was still pending. He sent a letter to the Governor of Hakodate with a plea to expedite the request. Finally, the Japanese authorities agreed to allot land in the coastal zone in which, recently, active development had started. A witness recounted the events, "the Russian Consul needed a site for building a house, and an order was adopted forbidding the newcomers permission to settle within the city. The Hakodate authorities pondered their next move. There was a magnificent cypress grove in the mountains beyond the city. The place was perfectly consistent with the intent of the decrees from Edo and the views of our government, but the biggest challenge was how to build on the steep slope of the mountainside. It would not permit typical Russian construction carried out on a large scale. What should we do? The governor of Hakodate assembled a huge team of workers, and in a short time cut out of a huge section of the mountain some seventy feet in length and width, just big enough to level a huge flat surface on which to put the consular house with all the services, even including a church and houses for the secretary and the doctor."

The Russian consul himself and a consular officer, the naval officer P. Nazimov, were involved in drawing up the plans for the buildings. Only Japanese workers, familiar with the Japanese style of architecture, could be hired for the construction. It was decided therefore to make the interior in the Japanese style, and the exterior in the European manner. Along with the plan for a two-story consulate building, four one-story buildings for accommodating the Russian families were built. The construction was carried out at a very fast pace with the Hakodate governor personally overseeing the construction and fulfilling all the requests of the Russian representatives.

In April 1860, the Russian Consulate staff moved into the new buildings. We should mention, perhaps, the impression of a witness: "We are anchored in Hakodate, but we can see only one piece of European architecture, commanding the entire city, and the most beautiful and comfortable of all the buildings, the house of our consul." Thus, the reference point for the Russian consulate was established. The Russian Foreign Ministry instructed Goshkevich as follows: "And now, your task is to meet with the influential people and authorities of Japan, and to learn more about the Japanese tycoon." However, the Russian consul was already very busy.

City of Hakodate.
Orthodox Church of the Christ Resurrection.

Soon after arriving in Hakodate, Goshkevich started the construction of an orthodox church. After first being set up in one location it was then moved and re-erected adjacent to the consular building. In June 1859, a priest, Vasily Makhov, arrived in Hakodate. He had earlier received an official appointment from the Holy Synod to administer the rites in Japan and in fact he had visited Japan before, aboard the frigate Diana as part of E. V. Putyatin's expedition and had witnessed the demise of the ship, the construction of the schooner Heda, and the signing of the Treaty of Friendship in Shimoda in 1855. It should be noted that the priest Makhov did not remain in Hakodate for long, about a year, before returning to Russia. His cousin Ivan, who was thoroughly familiar with the church service, was then sent to Japan in his stead.

In Hakodate he was appointed Priest Nikolai and was later canonized for his activities in Japan as St. Nikolai of Japan. In a letter to the chief procurator of the Synod A. P. Ahmatov, written in 1863 he says "Having arrived here in 1861, I found a completed church building, consecrated in the name of the Resurrection of Christ - the name was given by the local consul Iosif Goshkevich who was also its architect and churchwarden." Consecration of the church took place, probably, in March or April 1859. One of the participants in those events wrote, "ladies were making decorations, and our artists were painting the icons. Everybody was emotionally involved in the construction of the first Christian church in Japan, 221 years after the expulsion of the Christians."

In 1865 the Russian consulate suffered a misfortune. Careless handling of fire in the residence of the British consul resulted in a strong fire, which quickly spread to the Russian consul's residence. The mission building was almost completely destroyed by the fire. However those fighting the fire managed to preserve the church. The fire caused great damage to the Russian office; destroying the rich collections that I. A. Goshkevich had been collecting over several years in Japan. The next year -a new scourge: the city of Hakodate was struck by a powerful typhoon that severely damaged the consular building and the Russian diplomats were provided with temporary housing. It became clear that a sturdy stone building would have to be constructed. But this was only built in 1908. And in 1916, a stone building for the Orthodox Church was built - it has survived to this day.

Recently in Hakodate a branch of the Russian Consulate General in Sapporo was opened. It is located in the building of the Japanese branch of the Far East Federal University. The former Russian building is currently run by the Hakodate City Hall and is being preserved as an architectural monument after an exchange of notes in 1962 confirming the dismissal of Russian and Japanese mutual claims following the Second World War. In accordance with this agreement, the building of the Russian consulate was transferred to the Japanese side balance.

Based on the book
Russia - Japan: A Historical Path to Trust
From the Moscow publisher, Japan Today, 2008

Top of page

Note: Russian Embassy in Japan is not responsible for the content of external websites.

1. Главная
  2. Посольство
  3. Из истории Посольства
  4. г.Хакодатэ

Посольство

Из истории Посольства

Консульство в Хакодатэ

По Симодскому трактату 1855 года японское правительство обязалось предоставить «места и домы» для консульства России, а по Трактату 1858 года было предоставлено право постоянного жительства в японской столице российским дипломатическим представителям.

Первым зданием стало российское консульство в Хакодатэ (ныне закрыто). Когда-то именно оно познакомило жителей Хоккайдо с европейской архитектурой.

г.Хакодатэ. Здание бывшего
российского Консульства. Главный вход.

24 октября 1858 года (по старому русскому стилю) или 30 сентября 5 года Ансэй (по старому японскому стилю) миссия первого российского консульства во главе с коллежским советником Иосифом Антоновичем Гошкевичем на судне «Джигит», принадлежавшем Российско-американской компании, прибыла в японский город Хакодатэ. Город предстал русским путешественникам в своей подлинной красе. Узкая полоса пологого берега примыкала к живописной горе высотой более 300 метров, на которой уже начали полыхать окрасившиеся в красно-желтые цвета японские клены.

Российская миссия временно разместилась в местных буддийских храмах Дзицугёдзи и Корюдзи. Согласно дневнику губернатора Хакодатэ, «в храме Дзицугёдзи временно остановились: консул, его супруга, мать, секретарь, военно-морской офицер, врач, священник, супруга врача, четверо слуг-мужчин и две женщины». Консул И.А.Гошкевич немедленно приступил к переговорам с японскими властями о выделении участка для миссии на одной из городских улиц.

В подробной инструкции, данной И.А.Гошкевичу в российском МИДе, в частности, говорилось: «По прибытии в Хакодатэ Вы составите, согласно с Высочайше одобренным предначертанием, проект учреждения в сем городе школы и больницы и примите необходимые к исполнению его предварительные меры, впредь до утверждения его установленным порядком. Участок, который на основании трактата (имеется в виду российско-японский договор, заключенный в г.Симода в 1855 году – Ред.) будет отведен под Консульский дом, должен находиться в городской черте, согласно с изустным обещанием, данным капитану Посьету Японскими уполномоченными, и соединять нужные удобства с достаточной обширностью для возведения дома со службами, собственно для Консульства, магазинов для складки товаров и каменного угля, и помещения для приезжих. Но Вы не означайте заранее Японским властям ни числа, ни рода предполагаемых построек. Все вышеизложенные указания сообщаются Вам по Высочайшему повелению».

Стоит отметить, что упомянутая в инструкции договоренность К.Н.Посьета была достигнута, как можно предполагать, в 1856 году, когда он в качестве российского уполномоченного произвел в г.Симода обмен ратификационными грамотами договора 1855 года (Симодского трактата) с японским уполномоченным Иноуэ Синано-но-ками.

г.Хакодатэ. Здание бывшего
российского Консульства. Сад.

Переговоры И.А.Гошкевича с властями Хакодатэ шли непросто. Как сообщал русский консул в министерство иностранных дел в декабре 1858 года, японская сторона предложила участок, удаленный от города на 3 км. Это было предгорье, сильно продуваемое ветрами. И.А.Гошкевич возразил японским представителям: «Выши усилия заставить всех иностранцев жить в одном месте, бесполезны. Этот способ, который вы применяли в отношении голландцев в Нагасаки, уже невозможен». При этом русский консул показал на карте города четыре участка, не занятых постройками, и попросил выделить один из них. Стали ждать окончательного ответа из японской столицы – Эдо (ныне – Токио). А пока на средства, выделенные японской стороной, были построены больница и баня на том участке, который предложили японцы. Сейчас – это практически центральная часть города, а тогда – далекая городская окраина. Обе постройки были небольшого размера. В больнице не было места для жилой комнаты врача, и он жил вместе с консулом в храме Дзицугёдзи. До нашего времени эти первые российские здания не сохранились, однако в японских исторических хрониках осталось упоминание о них, в частности о том, что «в русском госпитале окна сделаны из стекла».

Вскоре выяснилось, что необходимости в больнице уже нет, но, как писал И.А.Гошкевич в мае 1859 года, он решил ее оставить, поскольку там была печка, где можно было печь хлеб и сушить сухари. В 1861 году больницу пришлось перестроить из-за постигшего ее пожара. Ее новое здание было взведено рядом с российским консульством. Как отмечал впоследствии врач, состоявший при консульстве, надворный советник М.Альбрехт, «больших усилий стоило нашему консулу приобрести место под госпиталь, вначале согласились отвести землю только с условием, что консул письменно обязуется впредь не требовать никакого места для русских…»

г.Хакодатэ. Здание
бывшего
российского Консульства.
Лестница внутри здания

Прошло три месяца с тех пор, как И.А.Гошкевич прибыл в Хакодатэ, но вопрос с участком для консульства все не решался. Он направил письмо губернатору Хакодатэ с просьбой ускорить дело. Наконец, японские власти сообщили о выделении участка в прибрежной зоне, где в последнее время началась активная застройка. Вот как описывал очевидец процесс события тех дней: «Понадобилось русскому консулу место для дома, и состоялся приказ не пускать пришельцев селиться в среде города – хакодатское начальство задумалось. Была у них на горе, за городом великолепная кипарисовая роща. Место это отлично согласовывалось со смыслом предписания из Иеддо (Эдо) и видами высшего правительства, но представляло большие неудобства и трудности в том отношении, что гора была слишком крута для того, чтобы можно было применить к ней русское здание, задуманное, по нашему обыкновению, в широких размерах. Как быть? Хакодатский губернатор согнал огромные массы рабочих, и в короткое время вырезали из горы громадный кусок (в несколько десятков сажень длины и ширины), как раз достаточный для того, чтобы иметь вид огромного плаца и поместить консульский дом со всеми службами, даже с церковью и домами секретаря и доктора».

В создании чертежей зданий принимал участие сам российский консул и сотрудник консульства, военно-морской офицер П.Назимов. Для строительства нанять можно было только японских рабочих, привыкших к японскому стилю архитектуры. Поэтому решено было внутреннюю обстановку сделать так, как в японских домах, а внешний вид – на европейский манер. По разработанному плану были сооружены двухэтажное здание самого консульства и четыре одноэтажные постройки для проживания русских семей. Строительство было осуществлено очень быстрыми темпами. Губернатор Хакодатэ лично следил за ходом постройки и выполнял все просьбы русских представителей.

В апреле 1860 года сотрудники российского консульства переехали в новые здания. Стоит привести, пожалуй, впечатление очевидца: «Мы стоим на якоре в Хакодате, но видим только один дом европейской архитектуры, командующий всем городом, поставленный выше всех, красивее и удобнее всех, это дом нашего консула». Таким образом, опорный пункт для российского консульства был построен. «Теперь Ваша задача – познакомиться с влиятельными людьми и органами власти Японии, узнать побольше о японском тайкуне», – инструктировали И.А.Гошкевича из российского МИДа. Однако русский консул был уже и так весь в делах.

г.Хакодатэ. Православный храм
Воскресения Христова.

Вскоре по прибытии в Хакодатэ И.А.Гошкевич занялся сооружением православной церкви. Сначала ее здание построили на отдельной территории, потом перенесли и заново возвели рядом со зданием консульства. В июне 1859 года в Хакодатэ прибыл священник Василий Махов, ранее официально назначенный Святейшим Синодом для проведения богослужений в Японии (кстати, до этого он посещал Японию на фрегате «Диана» в составе экспедиции Е.В.Путятина и был свидетелем и гибели корабля, и построения шхуны «Хэда», и подписания в Симоде трактата о дружбе в 1855 году). Стоит отметить, что священствовал Василий Махов в Хакодатэ недолго (около года), потом отбыл в Россию, а подменил его родственник Иван, хорошо знавший церковную службу.

Назначенный позднее в Хакодатэ священнослужитель Николай (в будущем за свою деятельность в этой стране канонизированный как святитель Николай Японский) в письме обер-прокурору Синода А.П.Ахматову в 1863 году отмечал: «Прибыв сюда в 1861 году, я уже застал здесь построенную и освященную церковь во имя Воскресения Христова, так назвал ее архитектор и ктитор ее, здешний консул Иосиф Гошкевич». Освящение церкви произошло, скорее всего, в марте-апреле 1859 года. Как писал один из участников тех событий, «дамы украшали ее, а наши живописцы писали образа. Все душевно принимали участие в построении первого христианского храма в Японии, через 221 год после изгнания христиан».

В 1865 году российское консульство постигло несчастье – от неосторожного обращения с огнем в доме английского консула возник сильный пожар, который быстро перекинулся на дом российского консула. Здание миссии выгорело почти полностью, в борьбе с огнем, правда, удалось отстоять церковь. Пожар нанес большой материальный ущерб российскому представительству, в огне погибли богатые коллекции, которые И.А.Гошкевич собирал несколько лет в Японии. На следующий год – новые напасти: на Хакодатэ обрушился мощнейший ураган, который сильно повредил здание консульства. Российским дипломатам временно предоставили другое жилье. Становилось понятно, что надо строить каменное, надежное здание. Но его построили только в 1908 году. А в 1916 году было построено каменное здание православной церкви, сохранившееся до нашего времени.

Недавно в Хакодатэ открылось Отделение российского Генерального консульства в Саппоро. Располагается оно в здании японского филиала ДВФУ (Дальневосточного федерального университета). Бывшее российское здание на данный момент находится в ведении мэрии г.Хакодатэ и сохраняется как памятник архитектуры, так как в 1962 году был произведен обмен нотами, подтверждавшими отказ России и Японии от взаимных претензий после Второй мировой войны, и в соответствии с этим здание российского консульства было переведено на японский баланс.

По материалам книги
«Россия – Япония: исторический путь к доверию».
М.: Издательство «Япония сегодня». 2008. – 160 с.

вернуться

Внимание: Посольство России в Японии не несет ответственность за содержание не принадлежащих Посольству интернет-сайтов.