1. Home
  2. Embassy
  3. Russian-Japanese Relations

Embassy

Russian-Japanese Relations

Japan officially recognized the Russian Federation as the successor-state to the USSR on January 27, 1992. Since then, relations between Russia and Japan have made substantial progress. Today, these relations are characterized by a mutual adherence to democratic values, the absence of ideological and military confrontation, and a mutual interest in international cooperation. At the same time, as both sides realize, the potential for cooperation between Russia and Japan, particularly in the economic arena, has not yet been fully realized.

A peace treaty has not yet been concluded between the two countries, due to Tokyo's groundless territorial claims to the southern Kuril Islands. However, the state of belligerency between the two countries ended at the time of the signing of the Soviet-Japanese Joint Declaration in 1956, which envisaged restoration of diplomatic relations.

During a meeting of the leaders of the two countries in Los-Cabos, in Mexico, on June 18, 2012, they agreed to continue their dialogue with one another in order to address the matter of the peace treaty, while working together in a calm and respectful manner aimed at achieving a mutually acceptable solution. They also confirmed their willingness to further develop bilateral relations with a stress on deepening economic cooperation (including cooperation within the sphere of energy production) and wider interaction in the Asia-Pacific region and the international arena.

As a result of the top-level talks a Russian-Japanese Action Plan was adopted in 2003. It is an extensive political document outlining the main direction for future work on the promotion of bilateral relations. In particular, it stipulates the promotion of political dialogue, the continuation of talks on the issue of concluding a peace treaty, cooperation in the international, economic, law enforcement and defense spheres of activity, and the deepening of cultural and humanitarian exchange. This document remains the road map for current relations between the two countries.

Political dialogue, especially at the highest level, plays one of the most important roles in Russian-Japanese relations. There were four rounds of talks in 2011-2012: with Prime Minister Naoto Kan, on May 27, 2011 on the sidelines of the G8 summit in Deauville; and with Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda, on November 12, 2011 on the sidelines of APEC summit in Honolulu, on June 18, 2012 on the sidelines of the G20 summit in Los Cabos and on September 8, 2012 on the sidelines of APEC summit in Vladivostok.

Bilateral dialogue between the Russian and Japanese governments has made rapid progress lately. The then Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation, Vladimir Putin, visited Japan in May 2009. During the visit both sides discussed the further promotion of cooperation in the fields of energy production, including nuclear energy; transportation; information technology; space exploration and research; and other areas. Six intergovernmental agreements were signed, including agreements on nuclear energy; customs cooperation; legal assistance in criminal cases; and other areas. On October 14, 2011 Prime Minister Vladimir Putin had a telephone conversation with Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda during which the Russian prime minister confirmed a willingness to engage in several joint economic projects.

During a telephone conversation initiated by the Japanese side on March 5, 2012 the Prime Minister of Japan congratulated Mr. Putin on winning the election for the post of President of the Russian Federation.

Former Chief of the Presidential Administration of the Russian Federation (currently – Chairman of the State Duma of the Russian Federation) Sergey Naryshkin participated regularly in the opening and closing ceremonies of annual festivals of Russian culture in Japan.

Contacts between the Russian and Japanese parliaments are progressing as well. The Chairman of the Federation Council of the Russian Federation visited Tokyo in January 2009. During the visit of the Chairman of the House of Councilors of Japan to Russia from October 12-14, 2009, he met Russia's Chairman of the Federation Council, Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov and the Chairman of the State Duma, Boris Gryzlov. On October 26, 2011, a meeting was held between the Chairperson of the Federation Council, Valentina Matvienko and Member of the House of Representatives of Japan, and Chairman of the Japan-Russia Society, Kunio Hatoyama.

Ms. Matvienko also took part in the Asian-Pacific Parliamentary Forum in Tokyo in January of 2012 and engaged in discussions with Japanese leaders, including Prime Minister Noda.

On June 10-11, 2012 the State Duma Chairman Naryshkin visited Japan to participate in the opening ceremony of the Russian Culture Festival in Osaka. He also held talks with the Speakers of both Houses of the Japanese parliament and met Prime Minister Noda; the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Koichiro Gemba, and Japanese business leaders.

The ties between the United Russia party and Japan's biggest parties – the ruling Liberal Democratic Party and the opposition Democratic Party of Japan – are also well established. The Just Russia party in turn is linked to the centrist Komeito party.

The foreign ministers of both countries are also in regular contact with one another. Sergey Lavrov visited Japan from November 5-8, 2008 and Japanese Foreign Minister Kunio Okada visited Russia in December 2009. Ministers also met on the sidelines of the G8 Summit in Gatineau in Canada on March 29, 2010, in addition to speaking with one another by telephone on June 9, 2010. Mr. Lavrov met with the Japanese Minister for Foreign Affairs, Seiji Maehara on the sidelines of the APEC summit on November 13, 2010 in Yokohama. From February 11-12, 2011, Mr. Maehara visited Moscow where he met with Mr. Lavrov and the Chief of Russia's Presidential Administration, Sergey Naryshkin. Mr. Lavrov and Japan's Minister for Foreign Affairs Takeaki Matsumoto held talks on the sidelines of the G8 ministerial meeting in Paris on March 14, 2011. The Russian Foreign Minister spoke with his new Japanese counterpart Koichiro Gemba, newly assigned to his post on September 2, 2011, by telephone on September 9, 2011. The ministers met on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly in New York, on September 21, 2011 and on the sidelines of the APEC ministerial meeting in Honolulu on November 11, 2011. On January 28, 2012, Mr. Lavrov paid a working visit to Tokyo where he engaged in full-scale negotiations with his counterpart, and on April 11, 2012, the ministers met again on the sidelines of the G8 ministerial meeting in Washington. On July 28, 2012, Mr. Gemba visited Sochi where he held talks with Mr. Lavrov and the Russian President Vladimir Putin.

A framework for Russian-Japanese strategic dialogue at the first deputy ministers for foreign affairs level has existed since 2007. Key international problems, particularly those connected to global and regional security are discussed in this framework. The tenth round of strategic dialogue at the level of the first deputy foreign affairs ministers of Russia (Andrey Denisov) and Japan (Kenichiro Sasae) was held in June 2012.

In recent years international cooperation between Russia and Japan has become more active (including addressing such issues as the settlement of the Korean Peninsula issue; counterterrorism; issues of strategic stability; cooperation within the United Nations; and bilateral consultations on Afghanistan, among others). Cooperation in other spheres including those which were previously restricted, has been advancing as well: contacts between the military, as well as the border and law enforcement agencies of Russia and Japan are now making progress.

Regional ties between both countries are developing as well. The Russia-Japan Forum coordinated by the Institute of Contemporary Development and Japan's International Interchanges Fund is regularly held. The Governor of the Irkutsk region, Dmitry Mezentsev leads the Russian delegation.

Progress has been made which now permits Japanese citizens to visit the southern Kuril Islands without requiring a visa and this was started following the conclusion of an Agreement on July 2, 1986 (in the form of an exchange of notes) permitting mutual visits to Japanese and Russian graves in the former territories of the USSR and Japan.

Reciprocal visits by residents of the southern Kuril Islands to Japan and Japanese citizens to the islands began in April 1992, in accord with the agreement of October 14, 1991. The visits are made by tourists travelling in groups, and who do not need visas, but use special documents. The itineraries usually include cultural and sports events, excursions, and other activities. Since the program began, over fifteen thousand Japanese citizens and more than seven thousand residents of the southern Kuril Islands have taken part.


Top of page

Note: Russian Embassy in Japan is not responsible for the content of external websites.

1. Главная
  2. Посольство
  3. О развитии российско-японских отношений

Посольство

О РАЗВИТИИ РОССИЙСКО-ЯПОНСКИХ ОТНОШЕНИЙ

Япония признала Российскую Федерацию в качестве государства-продолжателя СССР 27 января 1992 г. С этого момента российско-японские отношения в целом поступательно развивались, наполнялись новым содержанием. Сегодня они характеризуются обоюдной приверженностью демократическим ценностям, отсутствием идеологической и военной конфронтации, взаимной заинтересованностью в сотрудничестве на международной арене. Вместе с тем, как признают обе стороны, потенциал сотрудничества между Россией и Японией, прежде всего в торгово-экономической сфере, пока реализован не полностью.

Между двумя странами не подписан мирный договор по причине необоснованного выдвижения со стороны Токио территориальных претензий на южные Курильские острова. Однако состояние войны было прекращено с подписанием советско-японской межправительственной Декларации в 1956 г., на основе которой, в том числе, восстановлены дипломатические отношения. В ходе встреч руководителей двух стран в мексиканском Лос-Кабосе 18 июня 2012 г. было достигнуто понимание о продолжении диалога по проблеме мирного договора в спокойной и уважительной манере в целях поиска взаимоприемлемого решения, также подтверждено стремление к комплексному развитию двусторонних отношений с упором на углубление торгово-экономической кооперации, включая энергетическую сферу, и расширение взаимодействия в АТР и в международных делах в целом.

В 2003 г. по итогам переговоров на высшем уровне был принят «Российско-Японский план действий» – обширный политический документ, в котором намечены основные направления дальнейшей работы по продвижению двусторонних отношений. В нем, в частности, предусматривается развитие политического диалога, продолжение переговоров по мирному договору, сотрудничество на международной арене, торгово-экономическое взаимодействие, развитие связей в правоохранительной и оборонной областях, углубление культурных и гуманитарных обменов. Данный документ до настоящего времени остается «дорожной картой» современных отношений между двумя странами.

Важнейшее значение в российско-японских отношениях имеет политический диалог, прежде всего на высшем уровне. В 2011-2012 гг. состоялось четыре беседы: с Премьер-министром Японии Н.Каном – 27 мая 2011 г. «на полях» саммита «Группы восьми» в Довиле, с Премьер-министром Японии Ё.Нодой – 12 ноября 2011 г. «на полях» встречи лидеров экономик АТЭС в Гонолулу, 18 июня 2012 г. «на полях» саммита «Группы двадцати» в Лос-Кабосе и 8 сентября 2012 г. «на полях» саммита АТЭС во Владивостоке.

В последние годы активно развивается двусторонний диалог по правительственной линии. В мае 2009 г. состоялся рабочий визит в Японию Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации В.В.Путина. В ходе переговоров были обсуждены вопросы дальнейшего развития сотрудничества в области энергетики, включая атомную, транспорта, информационно-коммуникационных технологий, космоса и т.д. По итогам подписано шесть межправительственных договоренностей, в том числе соглашения по атомной энергии, таможенному сотрудничеству, правовой помощи по уголовным делам, а также документы по ряду практических областей. 14 октября 2011 г. состоялся телефонный разговор В.В.Путина с Премьер-министром Японии Ё.Нодой, в ходе которого глава Правительства России подтвердил готовность к совместному осуществлению ряда экономических проектов.

Во время состоявшегося 5 марта 2012 г. по инициативе японской стороны телефонного разговора Премьер-министр Японии поздравил В.В.Путина с избранием на пост Президента Российской Федерации, а 11 мая 2012 г. – со вступлением в должность Президента.

Бывший Руководитель Администрации Президента Российской Федерации (ныне Председатель Государственной Думы) С.Е.Нарышкин регулярно принимал участие в церемониях открытия и закрытия ежегодных Фестивалей российской культуры в Японии.

Продвигаются межпарламентские контакты. В январе 2009 г. Токио посетил Председатель Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации. 12-14 октября 2009 г. Российскую Федерацию посетил Председатель Палаты советников Парламента Японии, состоялись его встречи с Председателем Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации, Министром иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавровым и Председателем Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации Б.В.Грызловым. 26 октября 2011 г. в Москве состоялась беседа Председателя Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации В.И.Матвиенко и депутата Палаты представителей Парламента Японии, Председателя Общества «Япония-Россия» К.Хатоямы.

В январе 2012 г. В.И.Матвиенко приняла участие в работе Азиатско-Тихоокеанского парламентского форума в Токио и провела беседы с руководством Японии, включая Премьер-министра Ё.Ноду.

10-11 июня 2012 г. Японию с визитом посетил Председатель Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации С.Е.Нарышкин, который принял участие в церемонии открытия очередного Фестиваля российской культуры в Японии, состоявшейся в Осаке, провел переговоры со спикерами обеих Палат Парламента Японии, встретился с Премьер-министром Японии Ё.Нодой и Министром иностранных дел Японии К.Гэмбой, а также с «капитанами» японского бизнеса.

Налажены межпартийные связи между «Единой Россией» и крупнейшими японскими партиями – правящей Либерально-демократической и оппозиционной Демократической. «Справедливая Россия» взаимодействует с центристской партией «Комэйто».

На регулярной основе осуществляются контакты между министрами иностранных дел двух стран. 4-5 ноября 2008 г. состоялся визит С.В.Лаврова в Японию, в декабре 2009 г. прошел визит в Россию Министра иностранных дел Японии К.Окады. 29 марта 2010 г. «на полях» мероприятий «восьмерки» в Гатино (Канада) была организована встреча министров иностранных дел двух стран (С.В.Лавров-К.Окада), 9 июня 2010 г. между министрами состоялся телефонный разговор. 13 ноября 2010 г. «на полях» мероприятий АТЭС в Иокогаме была проведена встреча С.В.Лаврова с Министром иностранных дел Японии С.Маэхарой. 11-12 февраля 2011 г. С.Маэхара посетил с визитом Москву и провел переговоры с С.В.Лавровым, а также встретился с Руководителем Администрации Президента Российской Федерации С.Е.Нарышкиным. 14 марта 2011 г. «на полях» министерских мероприятий «восьмерки» в Париже состоялась беседа С.В.Лаврова с Министром иностранных дел Японии Т.Мацумото. 9 сентября 2011 г. состоялся телефонный разговор С.В.Лаврова с новым японским мининдел К.Гэмбой (назначен на этот пост 2 сентября 2011 г.). 21 сентября 2011 г. министры встретились «на полях» Генассамблеи ООН в Нью-Йорке, а 11 ноября 2011 г. – «на полях» министерского сегмента форума АТЭС в Гонолулу. 28 января 2012 г. С.В.Лавров посетил с рабочим визитом Токио, где провел полноформатные переговоры со своим коллегой, а уже 11 апреля 2012 г. министры встретились вновь - «на полях» министерской встречи «Группы восьми» в Вашингтоне. 28 июля 2012 г. К.Гэмба посетил г.Сочи, где состоялись беседы с С.В.Лавровым и Президентом России В.В.Путиным.

С 2007 г. действует механизм российско-японского стратегического диалога на уровне Первых заместителей Министров иностранных дел, в рамках которого ведется обсуждение ключевых международных проблем, прежде всего связанных с глобальной и региональной безопасностью. В июне 2012 г. в Токио состоялся очередной, десятый раунд стратдиалога на уровне первых заместителей мининдел России (А.И.Денисов) и Японии (К.Сасаэ).

В последние годы заметно активизировалось сотрудничество России и Японии на международной арене (урегулирование ситуации на Корейском полуострове, антитеррор, вопросы стратегической стабильности, взаимодействие в ООН, двусторонние консультации по Афганистану и др.).

Продвигается взаимодействие в других практических сферах отношений, в том числе и ранее «закрытых»: развиваются контакты по военной линии, между пограничными и правоохранительными ведомствами России и Японии.

Осуществляются межрегиональные связи. Регулярно проводятся Российско-Японские Форумы (глава российской делегации – губернатор Иркутской области Д.Ф.Мезенцев) по линии Института современного развития и Японского фонда международных обменов.

Развивается практика поездок японских граждан на южные Курилы на безвизовой основе, начавшаяся после заключения 2 июля 1986 г. Соглашения (в форме обмена нотами) о взаимных посещениях японских и русских захоронений на территории СССР и Японии. С апреля 1992 г. в соответствии с договорённостью от 14 октября 1991 г. (в форме обмена письмами между мининдел СССР и Японии) стали осуществляться взаимные безвизовые поездки жителей южных Курил в Японию и японских граждан на острова. Посещения осуществляются группами без виз, при наличии туристических документов установленной формы. В программу поездок обычно входят культурные и спортивные мероприятия, экскурсии и т.д. За все время обменов в них приняло участие более 15 тыс. японцев и более 7 тыс. жителей южных Курил.


вернуться

Внимание: Посольство России в Японии не несет ответственность за содержание не принадлежащих Посольству интернет-сайтов.